Dr. Jerrold Vitek, M.D., Ph.D. Head of the Department of Neurology and Director of the University of Minnesota Neuromodulation Research Center.

About Us

The Kurt B. Seydow Dystonia Foundation (KBSDF) was formed by family members and caring individuals who want to make a positive difference in the lives of those affected by dystonia. The founders saw first-hand how dystonia affected every aspect of life. From the long time involved in receiving a proper diagnosis to the effects on the patient as well as family, friends and loved ones. Dystonia, like many other debilitating disorders, affects not only the life of the individual diagnosed with dystonia, but also the lives of those around them. The Foundation aims to increase education and awareness of dystonia in both the public and clinical sectors, where dystonia is often misdiagnosed, left untreated or mistreated. Additionally, the foundation will grant funding for research. Working with the University of Minnesota Foundation, the KBSDF will direct funding toward Dystonia Research.

Our Mission

“The mission of The Kurt B. Seydow Dystonia Foundation is to promote education and awareness of Dystonia among the general public and medical community; to advance medical research to ultimately find a cure, and to support the Dystonia Community at large.”

Board of Directors

Kathleen Fowke – President
Ryan Weber – Vice President & Research Coordinator
Annette Seydow – Board Member

Financial Department
Lisa Richardson – Finance Administrator

Fundraising Events
Jessa Brixius – Manager


Professional Advisory Team

Dr. Jerrold Vitek, M.D., Ph.D.
Head of the Department of Neurology
University of Minnesota

Dr. Ryan Torgrude, DPT, OCS, MTC, CSCS
Physical Therapy Orthopaedic Specialists, Inc. (PTOSI)

Mindy Geraets, LMT
Licensed Therapeutic Massage Therapist

Dr. Joshua E. Aman, Ph.D.
Neuromodulation Research Center
Department of Neurology
University of Minnesota School of Medicine

Dr. Gregory F. Molnar, Ph.D.
Associate Professor – Department of Neurology
Director – Deep Brain Stimulation Research Program
University of Minnesota

Share This